New England School of Law

Boston, MassachusettsRanked #168

153
Median LSAT
3.37
Median GPA
61.3%
Acceptance rate
$62,896
Annual tuition
1.5%
BigLaw
0.3%
Federal clerkships
73.9%
First-time bar passage
$235K
Est. net cost

What these figures cover

Admissions
Entering class of Fall 2025
Cost
Academic year 2025 to 2026
Grant aid
Grant aid, academic year 2024 to 2025
Employment
Class of 2025, ten months out
Bar passage
First-time takers in 2025 (2026 ABA report), from the 2026 ABA report
Admit rate grid
LSAC 2024-2025 cycle

Reported by the school to the ABA, except the admit rate grid and the index formula, which LSAC publishes, and anything labelled an HFL estimate.

Admissions

Entering class of Fall 2025

An LSAT of 153 and a GPA of 3.37 sit at the median, against an acceptance rate of 61.3%.

Check your odds

LSAT, middle 50 percent

14925th153median15775th

GPA, middle 50 percent

3.0625th3.37median3.6875th

How New England School of Law weighs LSAT and GPA

Balanced

At this school, +1 LSAT point and +0.1 GPA move your index by roughly the same amount.

At this school's medians the published formula produces an index of 2.95.

How this school’s index formula worksLSAC admission index

Index = 0.04 × LSAT + 0.364 × GPA − 4.393

LSAC publishes the formula each school uses to combine an LSAT score and a GPA into a single index number. The coefficients show how the school trades one against the other.

The index is one factor in how a school triages applications. The rest of the process is not published, and the scale is not comparable between schools.

Admit rates by LSAT and GPA

Every applicant LSAC processed for the 2024-2025 cycle, sorted into bands. Read it as a benchmark, not a prediction.

Applicants
4,060
Admitted
2,451
LSAC admit rate
60.4%
Applicant pool covered
100.0%

New England Law | Boston admission rates by LSAT band and GPA band, 2024-2025 cycle. Each LSAT band below lists its admit rate for every GPA band. A band reading N/A had no applicants at all. A band reading 0% had applicants and none of them were admitted.

175-1803 applied100.0% admitted
>3.74
100.0%100.0%, 1 admitted of 1 applicant
3.50-3.74
100.0%100.0%, 2 admitted of 2 applicants
3.25-3.49
N/ANo applicants
3.00-3.24
N/ANo applicants
2.75-2.99
N/ANo applicants
2.50-2.74
N/ANo applicants
2.25-2.49
N/ANo applicants
2.00-2.24
N/ANo applicants
<2.00
N/ANo applicants
No GPA
N/ANo applicants
170-17471 applied87.3% admitted
>3.74
93.3%93.3%, 28 admitted of 30 applicants
3.50-3.74
83.3%83.3%, 15 admitted of 18 applicants
3.25-3.49
100.0%100.0%, 6 admitted of 6 applicants
3.00-3.24
100.0%100.0%, 4 admitted of 4 applicants
2.75-2.99
66.7%66.7%, 2 admitted of 3 applicants
2.50-2.74
100.0%100.0%, 3 admitted of 3 applicants
2.25-2.49
100.0%100.0%, 2 admitted of 2 applicants
2.00-2.24
0%None of 1 applicant admitted
<2.00
50.0%50.0%, 1 admitted of 2 applicants
No GPA
50.0%50.0%, 1 admitted of 2 applicants
165-169221 applied88.2% admitted
>3.74
89.1%89.1%, 82 admitted of 92 applicants
3.50-3.74
92.3%92.3%, 36 admitted of 39 applicants
3.25-3.49
93.8%93.8%, 30 admitted of 32 applicants
3.00-3.24
79.2%79.2%, 19 admitted of 24 applicants
2.75-2.99
81.8%81.8%, 9 admitted of 11 applicants
2.50-2.74
80.0%80.0%, 8 admitted of 10 applicants
2.25-2.49
100.0%100.0%, 5 admitted of 5 applicants
2.00-2.24
N/ANo applicants
<2.00
0%None of 1 applicant admitted
No GPA
85.7%85.7%, 6 admitted of 7 applicants
160-164474 applied86.9% admitted
>3.74
91.6%91.6%, 164 admitted of 179 applicants
3.50-3.74
89.1%89.1%, 98 admitted of 110 applicants
3.25-3.49
86.2%86.2%, 50 admitted of 58 applicants
3.00-3.24
84.4%84.4%, 38 admitted of 45 applicants
2.75-2.99
90.9%90.9%, 30 admitted of 33 applicants
2.50-2.74
59.1%59.1%, 13 admitted of 22 applicants
2.25-2.49
76.9%76.9%, 10 admitted of 13 applicants
2.00-2.24
33.3%33.3%, 1 admitted of 3 applicants
<2.00
0%None of 2 applicants admitted
No GPA
88.9%88.9%, 8 admitted of 9 applicants
155-159790 applied83.7% admitted
>3.74
93.5%93.5%, 200 admitted of 214 applicants
3.50-3.74
88.5%88.5%, 161 admitted of 182 applicants
3.25-3.49
81.8%81.8%, 130 admitted of 159 applicants
3.00-3.24
82.4%82.4%, 84 admitted of 102 applicants
2.75-2.99
69.4%69.4%, 34 admitted of 49 applicants
2.50-2.74
65.0%65.0%, 26 admitted of 40 applicants
2.25-2.49
61.9%61.9%, 13 admitted of 21 applicants
2.00-2.24
50.0%50.0%, 5 admitted of 10 applicants
<2.00
0%None of 1 applicant admitted
No GPA
66.7%66.7%, 8 admitted of 12 applicants
150-154960 applied73.9% admitted
>3.74
87.4%87.4%, 173 admitted of 198 applicants
3.50-3.74
77.2%77.2%, 173 admitted of 224 applicants
3.25-3.49
82.9%82.9%, 150 admitted of 181 applicants
3.00-3.24
75.7%75.7%, 103 admitted of 136 applicants
2.75-2.99
78.2%78.2%, 61 admitted of 78 applicants
2.50-2.74
47.2%47.2%, 25 admitted of 53 applicants
2.25-2.49
27.7%27.7%, 13 admitted of 47 applicants
2.00-2.24
10.5%10.5%, 2 admitted of 19 applicants
<2.00
0%None of 9 applicants admitted
No GPA
60.0%60.0%, 9 admitted of 15 applicants
145-149868 applied42.5% admitted
>3.74
76.1%76.1%, 108 admitted of 142 applicants
3.50-3.74
48.4%48.4%, 88 admitted of 182 applicants
3.25-3.49
37.6%37.6%, 73 admitted of 194 applicants
3.00-3.24
46.0%46.0%, 57 admitted of 124 applicants
2.75-2.99
22.5%22.5%, 20 admitted of 89 applicants
2.50-2.74
18.1%18.1%, 13 admitted of 72 applicants
2.25-2.49
18.2%18.2%, 6 admitted of 33 applicants
2.00-2.24
0%None of 16 applicants admitted
<2.00
0%None of 4 applicants admitted
No GPA
33.3%33.3%, 4 admitted of 12 applicants
140-144411 applied1.5% admitted
>3.74
5.0%5.0%, 3 admitted of 60 applicants
3.50-3.74
0%None of 83 applicants admitted
3.25-3.49
0%None of 83 applicants admitted
3.00-3.24
2.8%2.8%, 2 admitted of 72 applicants
2.75-2.99
2.3%2.3%, 1 admitted of 44 applicants
2.50-2.74
0%None of 28 applicants admitted
2.25-2.49
0%None of 25 applicants admitted
2.00-2.24
0%None of 5 applicants admitted
<2.00
0%None of 3 applicants admitted
No GPA
0%None of 8 applicants admitted
120-139172 applied1.7% admitted
>3.74
0%None of 8 applicants admitted
3.50-3.74
0%None of 26 applicants admitted
3.25-3.49
6.1%6.1%, 2 admitted of 33 applicants
3.00-3.24
0%None of 32 applicants admitted
2.75-2.99
0%None of 30 applicants admitted
2.50-2.74
6.7%6.7%, 1 admitted of 15 applicants
2.25-2.49
0%None of 15 applicants admitted
2.00-2.24
0%None of 4 applicants admitted
<2.00
0%None of 4 applicants admitted
No GPA
0%None of 5 applicants admitted
No LSAT90 applied34.4% admitted
>3.74
71.4%71.4%, 5 admitted of 7 applicants
3.50-3.74
63.6%63.6%, 7 admitted of 11 applicants
3.25-3.49
42.9%42.9%, 6 admitted of 14 applicants
3.00-3.24
10.0%10.0%, 1 admitted of 10 applicants
2.75-2.99
27.3%27.3%, 3 admitted of 11 applicants
2.50-2.74
37.5%37.5%, 3 admitted of 8 applicants
2.25-2.49
25.0%25.0%, 1 admitted of 4 applicants
2.00-2.24
33.3%33.3%, 1 admitted of 3 applicants
<2.00
0%None of 1 applicant admitted
No GPA
19.0%19.0%, 4 admitted of 21 applicants
How to read this gridLSAC, 2024-2025

N/A means nobody applied with that LSAT and GPA combination. 0% means people did apply and none were admitted. LSAC prints both as an empty cell, so we separate them. Hover or tap any cell for the exact applied and admitted counts.

The LSAC admit rate above (60.4%) is not the same figure as the acceptance rate in the page summary (61.3%). LSAC's own figure, taken from its Official Guide report. It covers the applicants LSAC processed for this cycle and counts admitted students who deferred to a later term. The acceptance rate shown in the page summary comes from the school's ABA 509 report, which counts applications on the ABA definitions and deadlines. Both are official figures, so the two often differ by a fraction of a point.

Law schools weigh much more than an LSAT score and a GPA. This grid also covers a previous application year, so it may not reflect changes in applicant volume that affect admission decisions. Read it as a benchmark, not a prediction.

How LSAT and GPA medians have shiftedABA 509, 2016 to 2025

A decade of entering class medians at New England School of Law.

  • LSAT median rose from 150 to 153 between 2016 and 2025.
  • GPA median rose from 3.20 to 3.37 between 2016 and 2025.

LSAT median over time

GPA median over time

Cost & Aid

Academic year 2025 to 2026

Grant aid, academic year 2024 to 2025

88% of students receive a scholarship, bringing the three year net cost to about $235K from a sticker price well above it.

See scholarship data

Cost summary

Sticker cost, 3 years
$334,959
Est. net cost, 3 years
$234,897
Modeled salary, covered job categories
$91,897, 64% of class
Illustrative repayment
17 years
Debt to income (HFL estimate)
2.56

What students actually pay

Sticker$63,216
Estimated average paid$29,862
Estimated avg. discount$33,354

Annual, non-resident tuition plus mandatory fees. The average includes students receiving no aid at all. The two estimated figures are an HFL model built from the school's reported grant percentiles, not figures the ABA publishes.

Scholarship distribution, all students

  • 11.7% No aid
  • 32.2% Less than half
  • 24.4% Half to full
  • 28.9% Full
  • 0.6% More than full
  • 2.2% Amount not stated
Receive a scholarship
88%
Median award
$40,000
25th to 75th percentile
$20K to $60K
How we estimate what students actually payABA 509 disclosures, 2025 release (tuition 2025 to 2026, grants 2024 to 2025)

Sticker price is published tuition plus mandatory fees. Actual average paid applies the school’s reported grant percentiles to its student body, so it includes the students who receive no aid at all.

Students with no scholarship pay the full sticker price. Grant recipients are split into quartiles using the reported 25th, 50th and 75th percentile awards, and each quartile is credited with the average award across its range. That uses every percentile the ABA publishes rather than the median alone.

We use non-resident tuition throughout, so the estimate is deliberately conservative. An individual offer can land well above or well below this average.

The two halves of this estimate are not from the same year. Tuition and fees are the 2025 to 2026 figures; the grant percentiles behind the discount are the 2024 to 2025 awards, which is the most recent year the ABA reports. A school that raised tuition or changed its aid budget between the two will sit slightly off.

Debt to income divides the three year net cost after scholarships by the expected first year salary.

At 1.0 the net cost equals one year of that salary, at 2.0 it is two years, and so on. Where an individual draws the line depends on their career plans, other resources and tolerance for debt, so no threshold is marked here.

The calculation uses listed non-resident tuition and the average scholarship discount across all students, including those receiving no aid, so it errs toward caution.

Careers

Class of 2025, ten months out

1.8% of the most recent class, 6 of 327 graduates, went into prestigious placements: firms of 501 or more attorneys and federal clerkships. Another 73.4% were employed elsewhere.

Cost and career outcomes

Headline outcomes

1.8%
Prestigious job placement
6 of 327 graduates
73.4%
Non-prestigious job placement
240 of 327 graduates
1.5%
Firms of 501+
5 of 327 graduates
0.3%
Federal clerkships
1 of 327 graduates
Prestigious job placement:
Full time, long term jobs at firms of 501 or more attorneys, plus full time, long term federal clerkships.
Non-prestigious job placement:
Other employed outcomes outside the HFL prestige category.

Class of 2025, ten months out. The two rates add up to this school's employment rate rather than to 100 percent. Firm and clerkship figures here are full time, long term.

The other 81 of 327 graduates (24.8%) were not in reported employment. Further study, deferred start dates, unemployment and unknown outcomes stay in their own categories in the breakdown.

Employment breakdown

  • 1.5% Big Law
  • 39.8% Other firms
  • 5.2% Clerkships, all courts
  • 5.2% Public interest
  • 14.1% Government
  • 9.5% Business and academic
  • 1.2% Pursuing further study
  • 20.2% Unemployed, seeking
  • 1.8% Unemployed, not seeking
  • 1.5% Status unknown

Class of 327 graduates, ten months out. Shares are of the whole class. Any “Not reported” slice is the part of the class the school did not account for in its ABA return, shown rather than spread across the other categories. Firm and clerkship shares here count every reported job, including part time and short term ones, so they can run slightly above the full time, long term figures beside them.

Employed, any job type
75.2%, 246 of 327 graduates
In jobs requiring bar admission
54.7%, 179 of 327 graduates

Employment trends

How employment outcomes have changedABA, 2016 to 2025

A decade of graduate employment outcomes at New England School of Law.

  • BigLaw placement grew from 0.5% to 1.5%.
  • Other private firm placement grew from 31.9% to 34.8%.
  • Federal clerkships held steady, 0.0% to 0.3%.
  • Public interest work grew from 3.3% to 5.2%.

Headline outcomes over time

Bar Passage

First-time takers in 2025 (2026 ABA report)

73.9% of first-time takers passed, 9.9 points below the average for the jurisdictions where they sat.

Bar passage rate, first-time takers in 2025

New England School of Law73.9%
Average where these graduates sat83.8%
Difference, below that average−9.9 pts

215 of 291 first-time takers passed in 2025. The ABA counts every first-time taker who sat that year, including graduates of earlier classes. The comparison is the ABA’s average across the jurisdictions where these graduates sat, weighted by how many sat in each. It is not any single state’s rate.

Where they sat

JurisdictionTakersSchoolAll ABA schools
Massachusetts19776%85%
New York2665%87%
22 other jurisdictions6871%78%

“School” is New England School of Law’s pass rate in that jurisdiction. “All ABA schools” is the pass rate for graduates of ABA or Council accredited law schools who sat there, which is not every person who sat the exam. The comparison above is the “All ABA schools” column weighted by the “Takers” column.

How to read a bar passage rateABA First-Time Bar Passage, 2026 report (first-time takers in 2025)

This is the first-time pass rate: everyone who sat the bar for the first time in the reporting year, whoever they are. The ABA counts first-time takers from prior graduating classes too, so it is not restricted to the newest class. Repeat takers are excluded.

The comparison figure is not the school’s home state average. It is the ABA’s average across every jurisdiction where this school’s graduates sat, weighted by how many sat in each, and each jurisdiction’s rate covers graduates of ABA or Council accredited law schools rather than every person who sat there. At a school whose class scatters across the country it can differ sharply from the local rate: 15 of the University of Virginia’s 307 first-time takers sat in Virginia, where the rate was 81.60 percent, while the published comparison is 84.85 percent.

These figures describe graduates’ first-time bar outcomes. Results reflect students’ backgrounds and preparation as well as where they take the exam. They do not isolate the school’s effect or predict an individual result.

Compare & Research

Compare schools side by side, read the official ABA filings, and see the questions applicants ask most.

Compare all schools

Similar schools

  • Touro CollegeView
  • University of Illinois Chicago School of LawView
  • St. Thomas University - FloridaView
  • Willamette UniversityView
All Massachusetts law schools

ABA official reports

Frequently asked questions

How hard is it to get into New England School of Law?

New England School of Law has an acceptance rate of 61.3% and is ranked #168 in the US News rankings. The median LSAT score is 153, with a middle 50 percent running from 149 to 157. The median GPA is 3.37, with a middle 50 percent from 3.06 to 3.68. Applicants should aim at or above the median to be competitive.

What is New England School of Law's bar passage rate?

215 of 291 New England School of Law first-time takers passed, a rate of 73.9%, among those who sat in 2025. The ABA counts every first-time taker who sat that year, including graduates of earlier classes, so this is not a single graduating class. That is 9.9 percentage points below the 83.8% average for graduates of ABA or Council accredited law schools in the jurisdictions where they sat, weighted by how many sat in each. These figures describe graduates' first-time bar outcomes. Results reflect students' backgrounds and preparation as well as where they take the exam. They do not isolate the school's effect or predict an individual result.

What LSAT score do I need for New England School of Law?

The median LSAT score at New England School of Law is 153. The 25th percentile is 149 and the 75th percentile is 157. To be competitive, aim at or above the median of 153. Applicants below the 25th percentile face significantly lower chances unless the rest of the application is exceptional.

What GPA do I need for New England School of Law?

The median undergraduate GPA at New England School of Law is 3.37. The 25th percentile is 3.06 and the 75th percentile is 3.68. Strong applicants typically have a GPA at or above the median.

Is New England School of Law worth the cost?

New England School of Law has annual tuition of $63K and places 1.5% of graduates in BigLaw, meaning firms of 501 or more attorneys, plus 0.3% in federal clerkships, for a prestigious job placement rate of 1.8%. That is 6 of 327 graduates in the class of 2025. The overall employment rate is 75.23%. Based on our estimates, graduates can expect to earn approximately $92K, weighted by this school's actual employment outcomes rather than by a single BigLaw median. Individual outcomes vary and are not guaranteed. Weigh your career goals, any scholarship offer, and your debt tolerance.

What are New England School of Law employment outcomes?

75.23% of New England School of Law graduates were employed ten months after graduation. 1.5% secured full time, long term BigLaw positions at firms of 501 or more attorneys and 0.3% obtained full time, long term federal clerkships. Based on our estimates, graduates can expect to earn approximately $92K, weighted by this school's actual employment outcomes rather than by a single BigLaw median. The school is ranked #168 nationally. Individual outcomes vary.

How does New England School of Law compare to similar law schools?

At #168 in the US News rankings, New England School of Law competes with other similarly ranked schools. With a 1.8% prestigious job placement rate, New England School of Law offers competitive outcomes against peer institutions. Compare median LSAT scores, employment outcomes, and total cost of attendance when evaluating similar schools.

HFL LSAT Advisor

Online

Hi! I'm HFL's LSAT advisor.

Tell me your score and goal and I'll point you to the right plan — or ask me anything.